The state of Tennessee requires drivers to carry insurance to cover any damages or injuries they cause during accidents. Drivers or passengers who sustain broken bones can submit claims to the at-fault driver’s insurance company. When a driver is uninsured or underinsured, a victim can sue for damages in civil court.
Insurance requirements in Tennessee
Tennessee law requires drivers to carry insurance. Driving uninsured can result in fines, while having an accident while uninsured can lead to jail time. So can providing false insurance information to officers and leaving the scene of an accident.
Drivers must have insurance policies that cover, at a minimum:
- $15,000 in property damage
- $25,000 per injured person
- $50,000 for all injured parties
Unfortunately, if the expenses related to injuries exceed the at-fault driver’s insurance coverage, the driver is responsible for the additional costs.
The costs associated with a personal injury lawsuit
Car accidents that cause injuries get complicated fast. Tennessee law allows injured parties to hold the at-fault driver personally responsible. Usually, this is done by filing a claim with the driver’s insurance company. If the driver doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the costs associated with broken bones, the injured person can file a personal injury lawsuit.
In Tennessee, personal injury lawsuits cover:
- Economic damages, such as the cost of medical care
- Non-economic damages, such as pain and suffering
- Punitive damages, to act as a punishment for intentional wrongdoing
Broken bones are just one of the injuries drivers and passengers can sustain in a car accident, and they can quickly rack up costs. Be sure to carry enough insurance coverage to handle your liabilities.